Creamy Quinoa and Broccoli Casserole

Tonight I prepared a dairy-free dinner for my family and I and it was DELICIOUS. I wasn’t disappointed that it didn’t include dairy AT ALL!!

“creamy quinoa and broccoli casserole with a crunchy topping”

Props to my sister, Gina, for finding the recipe and thanks to “the pretty bee: allergy friendly eats” for providing it!

IMG_5114

Below is the link to the recipe. I HIGHLY recommend this for someone staying away from dairy OR who just needs a healthy, delicious meal.

http://theprettybee.com/2014/03/creamy-quinoa-broccoli-casserole-crunchy-topping.html

NOTE: 

  I changed it up a little!

   I DID NOT make this a gluten-free dish. Instead:

  • regular flour (not gluten-free)
  • regular bread crumbs (not gluten-free

As for the “buttery spread” the recipe calls for, I used original Earth  Balance buttery spread. It is a vegan, lactose-free, gluten-free spread. We  use Earth Balance instead of regular butter on toast, in recipes, etc. In my  opinion, it’s better than butter!

Lastly, I DID NOT add Daiya mozzarella cheese (a dairy-free cheese). I didn’t add anything in its place either! I was a little worried that the consistency would change. I thought the casserole might end up being a little runny. But it wasn’t! It turned out perfect (in my opinion).

IMG_5121

I am SO happy with the way the casserole turned out. We ate it with a side of cooked carrots and beets. This is definitely a recipe I will use again (with my modifications). It’s motivated me even more to stick to the dairy-free diet.

As far as my eczema goes.. so far no changes.

 But its only been a WEEK! 

My next challenge: Thanksgiving. Will I survive the cheesy mouth-watering temptations that are included at Thanksgiving dinner? We’ll find out…

IMG_5127

 

Leave a comment